2. Blog


A day has passed, but…
September 8 marks the start of the “Hakuro”   白露 season, one of 二十四節気 NIJUSISEKKI the 24 solar terms.

The calendar divides the year into six seasons: spring, summer, autumn, winter, and winter.

The 24 solar terms of autumn
立秋 Risshu (the first day of autumn) → 処暑 Shosho → 白露 Hakuro → 秋分 Shubun (Autumnal equinox) → 寒露 Kanro → 霜降 Soko

The next 24 solar terms are
The next 24 Sekki is 立秋 “Autumnal Equinox” on September 23rd!

■ 白露 Hakuro
When the air cools down during the night and morning dew falls on flowers and trees, looking like white grains.
It is the time when signs of autumn gradually deepen.

■ 七十二候 Shitizyuniko The 72 solar terms
A calendar that further divides the 24 solar terms into three parts.

・The first season (around 8th to 13th)

草露白 Kusanotuyu shiroshi
The time when morning dew on flowers and grass appears white and shiny.

・The next season, from the 13th to the 17th

鶺鴒鳴 Sekirei naku
The time when the sound of wagtails echoes through the air.

・The last month of the year, from 18 to 23
玄鳥去 Tsubame saru
The time when the swallows that came to Japan in early spring return to the south


Last week’s forecast of the maximum wind speed of a typhoon was a surprise, but “being prepared is better than being worried”.

Another typhoon is on its way to Japan!
Be prepared!

Related posts